Gig Harbor Lacrosse, Gig Harbor LAX, Gig Harbor youth lacrosse, Gig Harbor high school lacrosse

My my My my

 Harbor Fire Lacrosse Association 

Gig Harbor Boys High School Lacrosse 

Peninsula Boys High School Lacrosse 

History of The Baggataway Bowl 

Honoring the Game 

The Harbor Fire Lacrosse Association-- founded by Craig Wickstrom, Ken Uddenberg, and Tino De La Rosa-- brought modern lacrosse to Gig Harbor, WA in 2009, providing teams for boys and girls from 3rd through 8th grades. Ken Uddenberg, Marc Kemp & Kelly Bland coached the first 7/8th grade boys team. In 2010, Marc Kemp and Kelly Bland started the high school boys team, serving both Gig Harbor and Peninsula High Schools. Over the next three years, Ken Uddenberg (2011), Tracy Lyon (2012 & 2013) & Tom Olson (2013) joined the high school teams' coaching staff. 

The initial group of 19 high school boys grew to a roster of over 60 by 2013. In the four year history, the team finished with a record of 36-25, claimed two conference championships, earned four 1st round playoff appearances, and had 7 players earn All-Conference honors. 

In 2014, the league’s governing body (Washington High School Boys Lacrosse Association) mandated that conglomerate clubs split, so separate teams were created to align with GHHS and PHS, and the GHHS team was moved to Division I. Marc Kemp, Kelly Bland, and Tom Olson continued to coach the players from GHHS while Tracy Lyon and Rusty Wilder assumed leadership of the players from PHS. 

In the spirit of the Apple Cup and Fish Bowl, the Baggataway Bowl was established to commemorate the common origin of the two squads, celebrate their natural rivalry, and honor the heritage of The Game. “Baaga`adowe” is the Ojibwe word for the Native American game we know as “lacrosse,” a name prescribed in 1636 by French Jesuit Missionaries. Native Americans considered Baaga`adowe to be “The Creator’s Game,” a divine gift, and in turn they played the game with great reverence to honor the Creator, heal the sick or injured, resolve disputes, and prepare warriors for battle. The Baggataway Bowl was envisioned as an annual event between the GHHS and PHS teams to honor their common history and the heritage of the sport. In keeping with the tradition of The Creator’s Game being played to heal community members, The Bowl may be dedicated to a player who is sick or injured or an ailing member of the lacrosse community. 

The victor of the Baggataway Bowl is awarded “The Fire Stick” trophy. The Fire Stick is a symbol of the Harbor Fire Lacrosse Association, of the players, coaches, and families who divided into two proud clubs, and of baaga`adowe itself. The head was custom dyed and strung by Coach Marc Kemp in the original red and black colors of HFLA. The more traditional stringing materials and wood “Crooked Arrows” shaft are homage to the Native origins of the game. It is intended that the Fire Stick shall pass to the winner after each contest in perpetuity.


2014: PHS 8, GHHS 7 OT

2015: GHHS 11, PHS 10

2016: GHHS 9, PHS 4

2017: PHS 17, GHHS 9

2018: PHS 13, GHHS 7

2019: PHS 12, GHHS 8

2020: Season cancelled due to pandemic