Sponsored By:   Association & Community Management
My my My my

2016 Season - Nominees 

The Scott H. Potter Spirit of Baseball Award winner will be announced during the 2017 Opening Day ceremonies.  Head Coaches nominate using the forms/instructions located under Documents, referencing players who emulate the core values identified as:

  • SPORTSMANSHIP – Ethical, appropriate, polite and fair behavior during all games/baseball events.  Contagious spirit to get their teammates to act in a manner that is also a positive reflection on the team, the Coach and GMJBA.
  • COACHABLE  - A positive attitude and approach to how the player hears and applies feedback from Coaching staff.  Willingness to learn and a drive for continuous improvement, raising the bar and setting a great example for teammates.
  • PASSION – Consistent excitement and enthusiasm for learning and playing the game.  Digging in through a challenge.  Tenacity, persistence and encouraging others to bring out their best.  Bringing the fun to practices and games – win/lose, strike/homerun.

The following player nominees have been recognized by their 2016 Head Coaches, are as follows:



Nick Vacanti - 2016 Scott Richards Team
Waylon Weeks - 2016 Mike Cerrones Team
Corbin Jantzer - 2016 John Lord's Team
Preston Tateyama - 2016 Perry Douty Team
Cal Janakus - 2016 Ken Reilly Team
Ben McDowell - 2016 Mike Evans Team
Shad Garrnet - 2016 Scaturro's Team