Promoting youth hockey in New Brighton, Mounds View, St. Anthony and Shoreview, MN

My my My my

Irondale Youth Hockey Association Board Meeting Minutes




IYHA Board of Directors Meeting:  October 15, 2009. 


Called to order at 6:32 pm by President Kevin Bourassa


Board Members Present:  Chris Drews, Theresa Spiering, Mike Nundahl, Beth Soberg, Nina Dojan, Kara Chamberlain, Monica Crandall, Brent Eilefson


Board Members Absent:   Tom Johnson, Dan Marcouiller,


Guests:  Torri Johnson, Rick McKelvie, Tim Fredberg


Minutes:  The minutes of the last Board meeting were read. 


Brent Eilefson moved to approve September meeting minutes as read.   Theresa Spiering second.  Passed without debate.   


Board Roundtable:


President:  Discussions in progress with surrounding associations about getting some additional bantams.  Spring Lake Park has some squirts.   Otherwise keeping busy on numerous fronts.


Vice President:  No fundraising committee or tournament meetings.  Due to some confusion, will update the volunteer policy to clarify intent.  Discussed volunteer hours, exemption from volunteer hours limited to head coach.  Everybody else can get their 3 non-tournament hours through managing, assistant coaching, etc., but still need to get tournament volunteer hours.  Historical problem is that between managers and assistant coaches, not much left for help at tournaments.  Better tournament volunteer message to mite parents in particular—there are a lot of them and they want to help.   


Secretary:  No report


Treasurer:   2009-10 budget prepared and explained.  Adjustments needed prior to presenting for approval at next meeting.


Boys Program Coordinator:   Absent, no report.


Girls Program Coordinator:  All games scheduled, all tryouts complete for IYHA and MV-coop teams.  Training camp complete.  Need waivers to be swapped.


Initiation Program Coordinator:    Learn to Skate event great success.  Hitting 90 kids at mites!


District Representative:  D1 game scheduling 10/24: 9am bantams, 11am peewees, 1pm squirts.  Need coaches/managers in attendance.  Redistricting big issue at D1 meeting.  D2 game schedule in hand, except for peewees.  ACE coordinator still being worked on.


Ice Commissioner:  Got game schedules issued, but A peewees seem to be missing their D2 games.  Rick given Monday ice for clinics for all levels.  Discussed ice usage and vacant ice options.


Registration Coordinator:  33 minis, 55 mites, 29 squirts, 45 peewees, 38 bantams.  Need to get all coaches information--MN Hockey registration and copies of CEP cards. 


                Beth Soberg moves to waive no-refund policy for Mite Dino Mahmutovic due to extenuating circumstances.  Chris Drews second.  Motion passed.


Equipment Manager:  Absent, no report.


Standing Reports:


Player and Coach Development Committee:  All is well.    


Lake Region:  Meeting next Tuesday. 


Fundraising Committee:  5k/pancake breakfast checks still coming in.  5k preliminary result, $1936 profit.  Extra thanks to Rhonda McConnell!  Let’s do it again next year.  No committee meeting, have 10 people interested in becoming part of the committee, including potential Chair.  Two more Fuddruckers dining dates to be added.  Cookbooks and t-shirts still selling.  Tourney raffle picking up, 1600 tickets will be picked up and distributed at managers’ meeting. 


Potential Partnership Committee:  Dormant.


Website Update:  Discussed sponsors on website and “renewals.” 


New Business:  


1.       Tim Fredberg presented, asked IYHA to sponsor an ad in high school Blue Line Club’s game program, as in years past.


Chris Drews moves that IYHA sponsor ad in Irondale boys Blue Line Club game program, and to similarly sponsor the girl’s blue line club game program when asked, up to a maximum of $100 for each ad.  Monica Crandall second.  Motion passed.   


2.     Discussion about pictures.  Make It Big photos is under contract.  Team apparel discussed, strong desire to standardize team apparel across all levels.  Rick McKelvie’s company potentially a resource here, will be looked into.



Theresa Spiering motion to adjourn at 8:28p.m.   Nina Dojan second.  Passed.