My my My my
Rye Rangers Approved As A Tier 2 Organization by USA Hockey


Rye Rangers Approved As A Tier 2 Organization by USA Hockey



See below for our tryout information.


by posted 04/26/2021
Rye Rangers Good Skate Award

On December 15, 2001, the Rye Rangers staged a memorial hockey game and fundraiser for the families of the three members of the club who died in the tragedy at the World Trade Center.  These individuals are Tommy Palazzo, Teddy Maloney, and Ward Haynes. The day was a huge success.

At the Rye Rangers Memorial Cup, we dedicated an award called the “Good Skate Award.”  What struck each of us as we remembered our friends was how genuinely good they were, how helpful they were to their friends, how loving they were with their families, and, generally, how much fun they were to be around.  In rink jargon, each one was what you might call a “good skate.”  A black granite trophy with an imbedded silver skate was created by one of our members, Gerry Baum, to remind us of this goodness and to inspire us to be better individuals.

The inscription on the Good Skate Award states that it is to be: “Presented annually to the member of the Rye Rangers Hockey Club voted by his/her peers as best epitomizing the human goodness of these special individuals.  It shall be forever known as the “Good Skate Award.”  Its enduring legacy is to serve as a reminder that we are all better human beings for having shared our lives, both on and off the ice, with these guys.”  

The past deserving recipients have been:

2002    Rocky Shepard

2003    Kevin Burke

2004    Bart Lawrence

2005    Frank Effinger

2006    Diane Holmes

2007    Jerry Baum

2008    Jay Altmeyer

2009    Marty Clague

2009    Bob Tucker

2010    Thom O'Grady

2011    Rich Guthrie

2012    Steve & Sharon Ketchabaw

2013    Eric Budke

2014    Peter S Duncan

2015    Mark Finnegan

2016    Bill Steers

2017    Rob Dorfman

2018    Sam Weinman

2019 Terry Morris

2020 Drew Shea




by posted 04/20/2021